My Top 6 Eurovision 2016 Performances

I started writing this post as soon as Eurovision 2016 was over, but for reasons that I cannot think of, I did not end up finishing it. I wrote about My Top 6 Eurovision 2015 Performances last year, with the intention of it being a tradition, and By Jove it will be one! Therefore, I am writing this and posting it even though Eurovision ended months ago. Anyway, Eurovision is always relevant, amirite?

My Top 6 Eurovision 2016 Performances

1. Jamala1944 (Ukraine)

The winning performance of Eurovision 2016 and there is a reason for it. 1944 is a heartfelt song that Jamala throws herself into completely, as the story behind it is deeply personal to her. Despite being immediately drawn in by her onstage presence, it took me until the second listen through to be won over by the song itself, but once I was, I loved it.

2. Laura TesoroWhat’s The Pressure (Belgium)

A solid catchy number that makes me want to groove… in my seat, because I don’t dance. I will say, there is definitely a familiar beat that sounds like it was taken directly from Another One Bites the Dust by Queen, and there are hints of Jamiroquai and the song Sax by Fleur East in there.

3. Poli GenovaIf Love Was A Crime (Bulgaria)

Another catchy, upbeat song that puts me in good spirits. Poli Genova is a cutie during this performance and I like her vibe.

4. Minus OneAlter Ego (Cyprus)

I would say that I enjoyed this song because it’s a total rip off of another song I like, Somebody Told Me by The Killers.

5. Iveta MukuchyanLoveWave (Armenia)

This song and performance is all pretty typical Eurovision fare, but Iveta Mukuchyan sang the song well and I’m always a sucker for the useage of traditional music/instruments.

6. Michał SzpakColor Of Your Life (Poland)

There’s nothing in particular I have to say about this. It was one of the better songs this year. Um… Michał has nice hair?

BONUS: Måns Zelmerlöw and Petra Mede – Love Love Peace Peace

Can we talk about how perfect the interval act was? I loved it! This being the first year that Eurovision was aired live in the US and China, it was a great introduction to what the show is all about.

Also, anyone who has been watching Eurovision for a number of years will know how terrible the hosts can be. Out of the years that I have watched the show, Petra and Måns were the best by far. They were professional, had great chemistry and were successfully funny. I’m almost tempted to say that they should be the hosts every year, but then we’d probably miss out on some glorious fails.

Leave a Reply

